RSS

LIZZIE BORDEN ADMITS GUILT!

18 Aug

NEWS FLASH: Incredible email received today. Wonder if it’s a hoax? And yes, I did respond. Here it is:

“—– Original Message —–

From: XXXXX
Sent: Monday, August 18, 2008 1:51 PM
Subject: Lizzie
I have 4 books from her library, 2 signed and 2 initialed. One is the travel/art guide she carried on her European trip with notes and comments. Also a play with Nance O’Neil’s
sig and Porter’s Fall River Murders !893. I bought them from her chauffeur’s nephew about
30 years ago. If anyone knows the value of such items it would be you – can you help me?
Many thanks. Robert XXXXX”
I’ve X’d out his email address and last name for obvious reasons.  Over the years, I’ve received emails such as this from time to time.  Some turn out to be golden – others, not so much.  Awaiting his reply to my response.
***********************************************************

Write your own “story” about Lizzie Borden and email me and I’ll post them to this blog. :)

You can find this very simple and quick program here.

And while we’re being silly -

Here’s a little ditty I wrote back in 1998:

My name is Nellie McHenry

And I’m a stringer for the Press.

I once scored a special interview

With a damsel in Distress.


She was the household maid

To a family of some fame.

You’ll remember Lizzie Borden?

Well, Bridget was her name.


And she told me with great confidence

Of something Lizzie said

About her stepmother Abby

Who soon after was found dead.


Now Lizzie told this Bridget

Who, of course, told it to me

That Abby made a “groaning” sound

When slaughtered horribly.


I am that very person

To whom this Bridget spoke.

My name is Nellie McHenry

But the story is a joke!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 18, 2008 in Just for Laughs, Newspaper Coverage

 

Tags:

One response to “LIZZIE BORDEN ADMITS GUILT!

  1. historylover

    August 18, 2008 at 12:28 PM

    Very cute poem!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

