RSS

November Northeast Trip

08 Nov

Arrived Boston yesterday afternoon.  Friends Tom and Rita picked me up at Logan and we went directly to Chinatown for dim sum before heading to their lovely home  outside of Boston.

I brought Tom and Rita a copy of Rebello’s Lizzie Borden – Past & Present which they did not have.

Today we did the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum which I hadn’t been to in about 5 years; walked around the Harvard campus, then had an early and GREAT seafood dinner at Ye Old Oyster House, sitting in the JFK booth.

Tomorrow morning we  fly into Albany, get a rental and drive over to Hyde Park.  Tom has made reservations for lunch at Escofier at the Culinary Institute of America.  I understand it’s a huge campus with several restaurants in the main “Hall”.  Their other son lives just outside Hyde Park so they’ll get to visit him before going back to Boston Monday morning.  I plan to stay and do some research at the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Presidential Library for a couple days digging into some letters between Grace Hartley Howe and Louis McHenry Howe.  (Thank you Julie for the box numbers!) Then, I’ll drive east to Newport and Fall River.

So far it’s been exhausting and I’m just getting started with 12 more days to go.  I’m still on Central Arizona time because I haven’t caught up on my sleep.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 8, 2009 in Nothing to do with Lizzie

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

