RSS

Alone Painting – Part V

01 Feb

UPDATE:   As emails and comments come in I will continue to post here. Scroll down past images to listing of those that have this painting by various artists. I do think Vosberg is the original artist.

from Steve Walt – a black and white print

Yep, still more of this “Alone” painting coming in.  The latest is from “Tiffany” who is sure she has the original-original recently purchased on eBay.   Maybe.  Maybe not.   Here’s an image of hers:

Since there’s been so many inquiries to my blog about this painting and its mysterious origin, I thought I would recap some of the comments.  I’ve left in contact info so you all can compare with each other.

avaloo@gmail.com
98.67.87.15

I have another one of these paintings! My grandmother’s painting is framed and signed “Schaller 1901″. So who is the original artist? Any new info.

I came across your beautifully developed blog today and I must say I was truly impressed. I have never read anything about Lizzie Borden, although I have heard the name through the years, but you have peaked my interest to do so. I started a small, woman-owned publishing company last year and to date I have published only one very well writted and extremely well researched historical novel titled AHORCA LAGARTO, HANG THE LIZARD. This takes place in Panama, Central America, during the gold rush years (1852-1856). Panama was the most popular of three routes for people to get to California, but you don’t hear about this in the history books. Dr. Robert H. Hughes is a new author with definite promise. I don’t know much about blogging, but after visiting your site I am encouraged to assist Dr. Hughes in exploring the blog world. He is a lover of history and truth, as you appear to be as well.
If you have any words of advise, please feel free to give them. I am all ears.

chacdoc
sbashamharris@gmail.com
2010/01/11 at 10:34pm

I have been searching for info on this painting for over 2 years. A print was on my great grandparents mantle and my aunt copied it. Even the copy painting was lost to me and I now have an interest in painting it over. I only had a 30 year old memory of the content. Hundreds of searches key words were fruitless until I found your blog. I was even wondering if it could have been a post WWII paint by number since there are so many claimed “signatures.” I am thrilled to have found some information on the painting, at long last.

Donna
duteeter@aol.com
2009/12/26 at 7:04pm

I also have a painting this. It appears to be old, in a very old frame, somewhat darkish (?like night time) with a full moon in the painting. Minen is on a board not canvas but with no signature or date that I can find. I was surprised to see similar painting listed on ebay. I just liked the painting but would love to learn more about it or the artist.

Johnny
moondog0987@hotmail.com
2009/12/23 at 8:03pm

Hi
I have an oil of this painting which I bought from an antique dealer about 8 years ago. The painting is signed “Sartori” and dated 1876. The painting I believe predates that of Vosberg and Wahlberg. I have over the last few years tried to find out more about Sartori the artist and happened to find a undated and unsigned version of the painting on ebay. Comments from members had indicated that the painting appeared a copy done by Vosberg which I found curious due to the date. If you want a pic let me know and I’ll send you one,

Linda
lillulabelle@hotmail.com
2009/11/12 at 9:07pm

I just found your website. I also have this “print” which I love. It is framed and in a very nice old frame. I bought it in an antigue shop in MN but he didn’t know anything about it. I didn’t want to take it apart to search for a name so have just been searching the web.

Kristy
kayvee6@comcast.net
2009/09/16 at 1:18am

Hi, I bought a print of “Alone” at a garage sale for $5.00. This is the first site I’ve found with any info!!! My print has no signature, but it is in color and framed in a beautiful reddish and gold frame. The printing at the bottom reads: “Published by Amlica (sp?) Publishing Co., NY Printed in America. There is a number “3″ under that. On the right it reads “The KNAPP CO LITH NY. I love this print, although it is a bit melancholy. I will send you a pic of it if you’d like. Thank you, Kris

Laurie
3loop@myfairpoint.net
2009/08/19 at 2:02pm

I have been meaning to contact you for quite a while. About 10 years ago, I purchased a print of this painting at a flea market in Connecticut. I liked the subject and it reminded me of my property on the lake. A few months later I came across another print, and since then my collection has grown to include seven prints, one not so well done oil on canvas, a black and white etching(with the artist’s name, date and title)and two celluloid boxes with the print on the top. One of the boxes has an inscription on the bottom that indicates it was a Christmas gift 100 years ago. I have had them all displayed on the walls of my dining room for the last several years. The interesting thing for me is that they are all done differently with color and scenery, but they are obviously the same painting. I always scout for this print everywhere I go. It is always so much fun to find another one.

Bo
bo@cgitexas.com
2009/07/26 at 2:38pm

I have a copy as well. It was found in the attic of my girlfriend’s great grandmother. She had it framed. It looks to be oil paint and the canvas has large blank edges with writing on it. It is signed H. Vosberg 1887 on the bottom left. Send me your email and I will send you a pic.

jim derendingerjim@yahoo.com
2009/04/20 at 4:58pm

I have what I believe to be the original and find all this talk facinating, my painting is 17″ high and 37″ long painted on canvas and streached on an old window shutter. My research thus far has taken me to the artisr Fr. Janssen and also his sig is on the painting. it was painted in the early 1880 s prior to his saint hood in the religious order he attended. I wnder stand that there are several similar to copies out there and very much like mine. If you would like a pic I would be glad to e-mail you one thanks jim.

Leo
comway@zianet.com
2009/04/15 at 5:43pm

Hi;
This is Leo  in Alamogordo NM.
I saw your posting on the Web related to a painting like this.  Mine is on very old oil on a 14X27 canvas, since looking at different web pages I have found two others almost identical and now really very curious as which is original. Mine is titled Alone but no artist signatures, as are the others.If you have any knowledge or thoughts regarding this painting I would like to hear from you.
Further info at… http://www.zimbio.com/George+Montgomery/articles/2/LIZZIE+BORDEN+ALONE+PAINTING+MAPLECROFT

Thank You
Ps Send your email so I can send actual photo

searching for painter
jnfer_00@hotmail.com
2007/12/22 at 2:10pm

I have a copy of this painting and was fortunate to come across this webpage. It came from my great great grandfather. The family story is that it came from Sweden. I was looking for the name of the painter when I stumbled upon your posting. Have you made any progress into the details of who the painter might have been. I am a student at a University in the US and used the University’s art resources to look for the painter. I have found someone who might make a match….Herman Alfred Leonard Wahlberg. He was a Swedish artist born in 1834 and died in 1906. I was wondering what your opinion was on if this could be a match and if you had any other leads.

Remember, this all started HERE.

With some of the follow ups HERE and HERE.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2010 in Collectibles

 

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “Alone Painting – Part V

  1. Svenska

    February 8, 2010 at 7:34 PM

    I have a copy of this print that belonged to my Scandinavian grandparents — also from the Midwest by way of Sweden.. My copy has crumbled and I am desperate to find a replacement. Has anyone found a place where prints can be purchased?

     
  2. Jan

    June 10, 2010 at 3:14 PM

    Maybe an art teacher was teaching an art class to many students at a university,and all the paintings (or most) are originals by several different artist’s.In an art class I took in college we all did a Rembrandt.

     
  3. jen

    November 28, 2010 at 11:59 AM

    I have another one of these paintings! My grandmother’s painting is framed and signed “Schaller 1901″. So who is the original artist? Any new info.

     
  4. Vickie

    July 25, 2011 at 11:53 PM

    I too have a color print. I am glad to have found this site, I’ve wondered for years who the artist may have been. My print has no visiable name on it and it is so old and frail I’m afraid to touch any of the paper on the back. I received the picture in the 50’s from a woman whose mother had died and she said her mother had it since she was a young girl. I think it may have been very appealing to young women and therefore made a great subject for reproduction. I would love to know the orginal artist.

     
  5. Grace

    August 14, 2011 at 7:09 PM

    Here’s another “original” oil of Alone. Purchased in warrenton Texas.
    Also have a print of it purchased in fort collins Colorado. Print is round, about 8 inches.
    Love it; my husband and I collect oils containg water and moon.
    Grace

     
  6. Paul

    October 10, 2011 at 9:15 PM

    Here we go. My “Alone” picture is old as hell. I have been reading about this and we need to put debate as to has the original to bed. The one I have is oil, ornate gold frame. The signature looks like E V Avery. One blog who claimed they had not that was on Lizzy’s house said he could not make out the signature but thought it said E or F,L Rberg or Aberg. Mine could be FV but Avery could be something eles too. This thing looks like it was painted a very long time ago. I will send pics if anyone wants to see it. I got in from a 96 year old man’s Estate in SC. They had many old nice anteques.

     
  7. Paul

    October 23, 2011 at 3:51 PM

    I bought this painting last week. I would love to get some feed back about it. It looks very old. It is signed. Looks like R V AVERY not clear.

     
  8. Clyde Gideon

    December 6, 2011 at 10:12 PM

    I have an oil in an ornate gold frame of “Alone” It was in my fathers house for his entire life. He was born in 1913. It is a dark paining with a full moon. Signature is too dark to read. It has never been cleaned and has been hanging in a house all these years, never stored.

     
  9. Theresa

    January 10, 2012 at 4:51 PM

    I have the same picture, Oil on Academy board the atists name is on the bottom left and appears to be Jos frank. I obtained it from my father who inherited it from his Aunt. Story goes it came over with her when she emigrated to the US in early 1900’s. If I remember correctly My Great Aunt told my father there was a copy of this painting hanging in a museum. She did indeed say this was the original! I wonder what the value actually is?

     
  10. Nicole

    July 8, 2013 at 7:31 PM

    I have this painting as well! Mine is an oil, 56×34, and I have had it restored. The signature was never found but the restoration artist said it was an an oil from 1890s at the latest. Would love to know so much more on this painting. Mine is done in more muted tones and is my treasure. My grandmother hung it in her home her entire life and I inherited it at her passing.

     
  11. Larry

    August 2, 2013 at 12:20 PM

    I have this painting as well. Mine is an oil, about 17×9. It’s in a wooden frame that seems as old as the painting itself. Hand-written on the back of the canvas is “Aug 31st 1900 Mrs Weeks.” My grandmother gave it to me, and told me it had belonged to a distant relative also here in Michigan. I first realized that mine wasn’t a unique original last week when I spotted the painting in an episode of Homicide – Life on the Street. (Season 2, episode 2 “See No Evil”). That sent me to the computer where I found out about all these others. Fascinating.

     
  12. Ashford allotmenteer

    November 20, 2013 at 3:09 AM

    I have just bought (in the UK) a very beautiful version of this, 5 1/2″ x 3 1/2″, which appears to be hand painted in watercolour. I say ‘appears to be’ – I am a watercolour painter and well able to spot a print. The only thing this could be is an etching, coloured by hand in watercolour mixed with gum arabic, heightened with opaque bodycolour. The signature is very clear and doesn’t appear to be printed – H. Vosberg 1887. It is on embossed art board – and it would be hard to do an etching on board!!!! – bearing the lettering F.HANESI N61 over the date 1884 and, underneath, MUNCHEN (ie Munich). The artist H Vosberg is documented and an internet search revealed other paintings by him, and his dates.

    Perhaps Vosberg was a hack artist who produced multiple versions of his most popular works, as well as having prints made. There seem to be versions both with and without the rising moon; mine is without and is pretty much identical to Steve Walt’s. I’m afraid Tiffany’s is certainly an amateur copy – there are errors of perspective such as you’d expect from an amateur but which no professional artist (which Vosberg clearly was) would ever be guilty of. Sorry, Tiffany . . .

     
  13. bill jensen

    July 11, 2014 at 6:08 PM

    I have an original oil with Alone signed lower left, right has an island and tree drops of blood behind figure and the figure was holding something but it was hacked out and canvas patch applied to back. Let me know where to send pistures

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

