RSS

New Photo of Lizzie Borden

10 Feb

How timely that my previous blog entry showed how Lizzie may have looked as a contemporary woman that I can present this newly found image of Lizzie Borden as a very young girl. Again from the treasures of Luther’s Museum and the Swansea Historical Society in Swansea, MA, donated by the Gardner family long ago.  So now we have another new stunning image to add to “The Bordens” photo collection.

I can’t help but think Lizzie looks a lot like her mother, Sarah Anthony Morse Borden, in this photo. Could it be that Lizzie’s older sister, Emma, was so often reminded of her dear mother when she looked upon Lizzie’s face?

I’ve suggested to Lee-ann Wilber and Donald Woods, co-owners of the Lizzie Borden Bed & Breakfast, that they print out this image and frame it as an addition to the other known photos of Lizzie that now grace the bookshelf mantel in the B&B Sitting Room.

Now that this image is on the internet, it won’t be long before new emphera pops up on Etsy, eBay, and other sites – you know, all those necklaces, ear rings, cloth dolls, notecards, snow globes, and whatever with various images of Lizzie’s face. Cest ‘la vie. 🙂

”Live life liberated! Better to be direct and honest than false and phoney. Image and reputation are transient perceptions of what other people think, not what they know.”

 

 

 

 

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2008 in Swansea

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “New Photo of Lizzie Borden

  1. Jeremy

    February 10, 2008 at 4:01 PM

    Wow! That’s terrific Faye!! She looked kind of wierd even back then with the blank eyes. Are there any photographs of the whole family together that you know of? I have never seen any. When are you returning to Fall River? John and I look forward to seeing you again.

     
  2. phayemuss

    February 11, 2008 at 7:24 AM

    Hello Jeremy….I don’t know of any family portraits but surely there are some. Will be in Fall River end of next month before our return to Italy. Look forward to seeing you and John then. Check your emails.

     
  3. Leon

    February 16, 2008 at 2:19 PM

    I just learned on the new photo on the news. I googled to see what people were saying about it. Thanks.

    I don’t see any articles offering the opinion that the murders didn’t necessarily take place where the bodies were found. Today we’re more aware of cast-off and other evidence of the motions of the attacker. And I guess in no small part to trial television.

    Given the number of blows per body and how the father was still wearing his jacket yet supposedly taking a nap, seems like a family member or member of the house commited this crime.

    Thanks,
    Leon

     
  4. Aromagic

    February 18, 2008 at 1:26 PM

    Fascinating photograph. Thank you. It absolutely reflects a theory of mine I’ve been piecing together for a couple decades. It’s one that I’ve yet to read anyone mention before. The previous comment mentions the weird look and the blank eyes. There is a medical condition that explains the look and her lifelong behavior. Also gives a good explanation for many puzzles that surround Lizbeth’s life.

    But my theory is difficult to prove without more information. We have so little to go on with regard to her cognitive abilities, only the minimal anecdotal evidence of her behavior. If that little girl in the photo were alive today, I do believe she would have a diagnosis.

     
  5. phayemuss

    February 18, 2008 at 1:48 PM

    Forensic testimony concurred the assailant stood at the dining room door on Andrew’s attack, and straddled Abby after the first blow at between the bed and dresser.

    The jacket Andrew had on was a lounging jacket. I believe Lizzie put on his Prince Albert coat – front to back – which shielded her from blood splatter.

    Thanks for for commenting Leon.

     
  6. phayemuss

    February 18, 2008 at 1:53 PM

    Aromajic: Have you read Victoria Lincoln’s A Private Disgrace and her petite mal epilepsy theory?

    The expression in Lizzie’s face on the new photo makes me think twice about the sexual abuse/incest theories.

     
  7. Aromagic

    February 18, 2008 at 7:53 PM

    Yes, I have read the epilepsy theory as well as the incest theories. But that’s not what I’m thinking. I wish there was more details on her medical history as well as childhood information. I hesitate to say more because I’m a writer working on a book.

    However, I was so pleased to find your site. You’ve done an excellent job! I first heard the story as a child in Las Vegas from an elderly lady friend who grew up in Fall River. I began serious study when I moved to Taunton in 1979. I’ve lived in Rehoboth since 1984. I’m also a medium . . . and that lends another dimension to my Borden studies. I wish I had your connections because I could gather much information from seeing and touching things. The closest I’ve come is seeing the small amount stuff on exhibit at the Fall River Historical Society.

    Well, thank you for your site and your work. It’s nice to have a kindred!

     
  8. Kimberly

    February 26, 2008 at 12:23 AM

    Wow–This looks so much like the photo of the young Emma. I never thought they looked alike at all, because Lizzie had such a heavy face & Emma was thin like Andrew, but this is remarkable.

    In Lizzie’s other girlhood photos she looks rather saucy, or at least snobbish, but this one makes her look depressed. She still looks very stylish though. Love her lunatic fringe.

     
  9. AMANDA D

    July 14, 2009 at 9:19 AM

    Is it me or has she got eyes like Hitler? Really there is something similar in their faces.

     
  10. babin

    August 7, 2009 at 9:51 PM

    I make paintings and sculptures of people for a living. The features are not right for Lizzie. I think that this photo is Abby Borden as a young girl.

     
  11. Stephen A Martin

    June 13, 2010 at 10:32 PM

    Am I the only one who thinks that is deffinately NOT Lizzie Borden?
    The girl in the photograph looks NOTHING like Lizzie Borden.
    In the one known childhood photo of Lizzie, the profile photo, you can still see that she had the same features as she had as an adult woman, the large eyelids, and wide full lips.. the strong cheekbones and jaw.
    The girl in this photo has a totally different face shape, and totally different features.
    This girl is not Lizzie Borden.

     
    • phayemuss

      June 15, 2010 at 9:38 AM

      You’re not the only one who doubts the veracity of Stefani Koorey’s claim that this is Lizzie Borden. However, I have seen this actual photograph myself, in its album, which was most likely the property of Emma Borden. I am familiar with most of the Gardners descended from Henry Augusta Gardner who were, in a sense, Emma’s surrogate family (after she parted from Lizzie in 1905) and I have seen this same photograph from property from his estate. Those boxes also contained photos of Emma. There is no doubt in my mind this is Lizzie as a young girl. All the previous photos of Lizzie are of when she was around 15 on up. We ALL look a little different pre-pubescent. 🙂

       
  12. michael kors handbags

    January 16, 2013 at 7:27 PM

    Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so
    I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m
    bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Excellent blog and superb design
    and style.

     
  13. http://yahoo.com

    February 10, 2013 at 11:41 AM

    I personally want to bookmark this specific blog post, “New Photo of Lizzie Borden
    Tattered Fabric: Fall River’s Lizzie Borden” on my web-site. Will you care if perhaps I reallydo? Thanks a lot -Federico

     
    • phayemuss

      February 11, 2013 at 12:07 AM

      No, I do not mind – go right ahead – just mention where you got it. 🙂

       
  14. prospective cars

    April 14, 2013 at 7:22 AM

    I do agree with all the ideas you’ve offered on your post. They’re very convincing and will
    certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for starters.
    May just you please extend them a little from subsequent time?

    Thank you for the post.

     

Leave a Reply

 
