RSS

Script Excerpt: Post Burial Remembrance

31 Mar

Here’s an excerpt from one of two scripts I’ve written on the Lizzie Borden case. I scheduled some automatic launches of blog entries during my Italy trip and this will be the first. And they aren’t all from the script….watch for letters in my collection from Bordens.

JUSTICE MASON

The Court herewith orders that you be discharged of this indictment and go thereof without day.

FADE TO BLACK.

EXT. OAK GROVE CEMETERY – THE ANDREW BORDEN PLOT – DUSK
WORDS ON SCREEN: “ONE YEAR LATER”

We see Lizzie and Emma looking at the new 10-foot high monument they have recently had placed across from the graves of their father, mother, baby Alice, and Abby. The monument is carved with all their names, dates of birth, dates of death.

EMMA

Promise me Lizzie that … when the time comes…you will not have me buried next to Abby. Promise me that you will have me buried closer to father’s headstone.

LIZZIE

Of course, Emma. I promise. And when the time comes, I shall have myself buried next to you.

Lizzie looks back up at the monument and remembers:

EXT. SWANSEA – BANKS OF COLES RIVER

Lizzie is about 12 years old and is sitting on the grass with Andrew. It is a beautiful, peaceful day. They hold fishing poles and he is helping her attach sinkers.

ANDREW

I remember when you were just so high and I first taught you to fish. My lands girl, but you took to it so. Smartest little angler I ever saw. You caught three fish your first time and you were mighty excited.

Andrew laughs and puts his arm around Lizzie. She tilts her head so it braces against his arm.

ANDREW

Never could get Emma to get the hang of it. But you’ve always been a quick learner, Lizzie. Now don’t pull it too tight, just a little more here. I figure we can catch our dinner tonight. What do you say?

LIZZIE

If I put my mind to it, Father, I can. If I put my mind to it, I can do most anything. How many fish do you want me to catch?

ANDREW
(smiling)

As many as you want Lizzie, as many as you want.

DISSOLVE

 

INT. MAPLECROFT – LIZZIE’S BEDROOM

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2008 in The Borden Family, Time Portals

 

Leave a Reply

 
