RSS

Alone Painting – Part 2

21 Jul

UPDATE:  July 21, 2009.  Found this painting listed on eBay with the following writeup:

“I don’t really know very much about this print at all.  I purchased it approx. 11 yrs. ago at an estate auction in Maine.  It is unsigned and I have tried researching it via ebay, google, and other sites and cannot find anything on it.  My daughter is still searching.  It measures 16.5″ x 9.5” framed.  The frame appears to be period and is oak.  My husband thinks it is tiger oak due to the dark markings on the wood, but not sure.  Frame does have a few nicks and has a nice beading around the inner edges.   It is as we purchased it with no paper backing.  We opened it to take as many pics. as possible for you to view.  The print has a water stain on the right side and is somewhat wavy as shown in pic.  Also, on the very bottom center, there is what appears to be a crack.  It does not go thru to the back.  We believe it to be from the 1900’s as the paper lining the inside is dated 1903.  Glass covered and glass is in very good cond.   It is serene and depicts a young girl which looks to be sleeping in the boat.  If you know any info on this, I would appreciate hearing about it.  Buyer to pay shipping and I have estimated it a little higher weight, to be wrapped carefully.  If the actual postage is less than anticipated, I always refund via paypal.  If it is more, I cover the cost.  Thank you.

NOTE: Thanks to a fellow Ebayer in giving me the title to this print, I was able to find a little info. on it.  Appears there is a question as to who the orig. painter was.  One is Swedish artist Herman Alfred Leonard Wahlberg and the other is FR Janseen.  I read that Lizzie Borden actually owed the Wahlberg one.  Info is located on the following site, if you care to read on it: https://phayemuss.wordpress.com/2009/06/25/alone-painting/”


And here is the original “Alone Painting – Part 2” post:

I previously wrote about this painting once owned by Lizzie Borden HERE.


AloneNoSig

As I understand it, this ‘”Alone” painting was very popular – much like Walter Keene’s “big eye” paintings of children  that have been copied over and over.  So i think the Alone painting was made into prints and even subsequent artists copied it.  If you have the original artists original – it could be worth a fortune.

Jim and Ronda D. have sent me images of their “Alone” painting – an original signed “FR Janseen”.  I’ve searched and found there are so many variations of the spelling for the same people, one of which is Father Arnold Janseen (1837-1909) who was founder of the Society of World Ministries and cannonized by the Pope.  But no indications he ever painted.  in fact, the signature on that link does not match either one on the two paintings shown here.  Nonetheless, they have this “original” and if theirs is the original-original, I imagine it would be worth in the six figures to the Vatican.

Alone

AloneSig

On the other, perhaps this “FR Janseen” painted his original from another source.

It is possible the original painter was Peter Janssen (1804-1908) who was praised for his “They All Follow The Star” in this November 10, 1907  newspaper report

One thing for sure – Lizzie did not give away an original of the painting known as “Alone”.

 

6 responses to “Alone Painting – Part 2

  1. jamaica2001

    August 26, 2009 at 10:50 PM

    Thank you it’s very nice

     
  2. chacdoc

    January 11, 2010 at 10:34 PM

    I have been searching for info on this painting for over 2 years. A print was on my great grandparents mantle and my aunt copied it. Even the copy painting was lost to me and I now have an interest in painting it over. I only had a 30 year old memory of the content. Hundreds of searches key words were fruitless until I found your blog. I was even wondering if it could have been a post WWII paint by number since there are so many claimed “signatures.”
    I am thrilled to have found some information on the painting, at long last.

     
    • phayemuss

      January 12, 2010 at 10:27 AM

      Did you also read my post “Alone – Part 3”?? Also, I think I still have another comment active on the main page relative to this painting.

      Obviously it has been copied over and over and over for about a hundred years or more. But do check out Part 3.

       
      • Roberta Lamb

        February 10, 2014 at 8:37 PM

        This is very interesting about Janseen, as my reverse glass painting of this piece was given to my Great, Great,Great Grandfather Schmidt who was a minister of the Gospel of the Anabaptist faith were being persecuted and fled to Moravia for hopeful more privilege. I am told the painting was given to him as a gift around 1860. It was kept in a cardboard box for many, many years. It wasn’t until 1980 when my mother who was a Schmidt, was dying and I ask her if I could have the painting. She said it was just an old thing the ‘old man’ kept after his father died. I find it so interesting how this painting has all the same marks and colors, yet was done on reverse glass and not paper as were the others we see. Reverse glass cannot be copied, they are always original due to the unusual process of how they are painted. I may have to travel to get it appraised at this rate. I just feel since Janseen was a Priest, and my grandfather was a minister that it may have a connection.

         
  3. juwanna

    July 9, 2012 at 9:14 PM

    over 20 years ago, I had a garage sale with my items and my mothers. She had this print for over 40 years. I believe she had it from when they moved to Illinois after she and my father married. It was in an old frame. There was another print I sold with it that had victorian ladies dressed in sheer gowns in a garden with a fountain and many flowers. Well, two gentlemen asked the price of the painting(claiming to want it for the frame(which was antique), I was hesistant, but gave them a quick price and have regretted it ever since. I have looked over and over for years for this picture, waiting to catch a glimpse of it on the “Antique Roadshow” or something. I am glad to have found some information on the picture. wow, this is amazing.

     
  4. faye

    July 10, 2012 at 11:51 PM

    juwanna: Glad you were able to learn more from my posts on this painting. It does turn up from time to time on eBay. – faye

     

Leave a Reply

 
