RSS

The Gift That Keeps on Giving: “Alone” Painting Part IV

04 Jan

You might remember my posts on this painting – a copy of which was once owned by Lizzie Borden.  The mystery of just who the original-original artist was remains a mystery.  I continue to get emails from people having copies –  all of them by different artists or unsigned.  All of them from the same time period.  ‘Tis a puzzlement it tis.

Two more recent entries on eBay for this highly popular painting:

1.  This time the artist is  Inez Johnson.  Note that the painting did not sell at a starting price of $298.00.

2.  No artist signature on this one, but it sold for $103.50.

This blog was cited in both and I think that’s because I’ve written about it so often.  Click HERE.

See also Comments on the right of this page from Donna Teeter, and Johnny on “Alone”.

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “The Gift That Keeps on Giving: “Alone” Painting Part IV

  1. Sandy

    April 4, 2010 at 7:27 PM

    I recently acquired this print unframed at an auction. The name H. Vosberg and year 1887 is in the print. Furthermore H. Vosberg is clearly written on the print about an inch below the image. The paper is fairly heavy stock, embossed, and aged sufficiently to convince me that the print was made in 1887. It appears to be a handcolored etching which if true would explain variations in colors and even the black and white (uncolored just the etching)print. My particular print is dusk, a full moon is in the sky, the girl’s hair is about the same color as the boat, her skirt is blue and the apron is a reddish color.

     
  2. June

    September 7, 2010 at 4:54 PM

    Hello…
    Have you ever had anyone suggest this may have been an art school exercise with several young artists working from shore for the day? The angles of the boat are different in prespective in each of the examples you show. The artists may or may not have signed the painting because of it being a class project? The sunset in some paintings, the moon in others. Could it have been done before some of the artists were well known? Once they had become established abit, would they have done prints because of interest or demand? I have read it was common practice for learning artists to copy a masterpiece in their classes. Could this be the case with some of these other oil paintings that have shown up?

    I have found your blog [s] very interesting to read. I have a print of this that was in our home when I was a small child. I now have it and admire it often, I have always loved this painting. I have no idea where my mother would have come by the print. It shows the same angles of the boat with two posts sticking out ot the water and moon at dusk as the painting signed by Vosberg. I was hoping to learn about the original, but find it even more intrequing that the original cannot be traced with full certainty.

    I shall keep an eye out on eBay for this in painted form now. LOL…one more thing on my wish list.

    Will continue to admire this lovely girl in the boat….I always thought she fell asleep waiting for her net to fill with fish.
    Anyone have any thoughts on the subject and what she has been up to?

    Lovely information…
    Thank you so much…
    June….

     
  3. Anonymous

    July 3, 2011 at 8:33 AM

    I also this picture of a girl in the boat. it is in black and white and is very old. It belonged to my grandmother. It is dated 1887 and signed H Vosburg . Renee

     
  4. Anonymous

    July 11, 2011 at 3:18 PM

    My grandmother also had this print hanging in her home. Everyone in our family loved the picture. It was titled “Drifting”. I have since given the picture to my oldest daughter and purchased one from an antique store in Herman,MO for my youngest daughter. That one was titled “Serenity” . I also have one given as a gift from a friend, and none of ours reflects an artist’s name. There is a resturant in St Louis called the Lemp Mansion (used to belong to the Lemp family who were beer brewers in the area) and there was a copy of this picture on display there. It looked as thought it might be an oil painting. This was about 15 years ago. They wouldn’t part with theirs and I sure wouldn’t part with mine!! Cheryl

     
  5. Ashford allotmenteer

    November 20, 2013 at 2:28 AM

    I have just bought this at a bootfair in England for £9, in an old frame. The image is about 5 1/2″ by 3 1/2″, and is clearly handpainted if indeed over an etching. Brushstrokes of pale bodycolour are visible if turned in the light, and the surface appears to be finished with gum arabic or varnish – not uncommon with watercolour in the late 19thC. The signature and date H.Vosberg 1887 is very clear. The image is on heavy art board, and has been expensively mounted with gilt and cream board, with a moulded gesso frame on which the original gilt paint has faded to a soft olive.

    I am fascinated to learn of the connection with Lizzie Borden!

     
  6. Ashford allotmenteer

    November 20, 2013 at 2:31 AM

    Further to my first post, the image I have is identical to that shown, but has more on both the left and the right hand side, making the composition more balanced. I bought it on a whim and must now consider the possibility of selling it?

     
  7. tuńczykwpuszcze.com.pl

    December 16, 2013 at 4:35 AM

    Great website. Lots of helpful information here. I am sending it to some buddies ans
    also sharing in delicious. And obviously,
    thank you in your effort!

     

Leave a Reply

 
