RSS

I’m Going to Be a Grandmother!

11 May

Finally!!!  I’ve been waiting for this for over a decade!

The best Mother’s Day I’ve ever had was this Sunday when my son and daughter-in-law from California knocked on my door Sunday morning.  Their visit was totally unexpected.  I figured he would call me some time during the day, but to see them both standing there on the front deck in the bright sun was simply incredible.

We had a terrific day with great weather in Payson,  and later drove  down the mountain to Scottsdale and visited the Frank Lloyd Wright’s Taliesan West and then a delicious Japanese dinner.   Josh handed me a little gift box and inside was a miniature bronze figurine (I collect them).  This one was of a little baby in a cradle.  There was a small envelop and inside a handwritten note: “You’re going to be a Grandmother”.     I thought I had drank too much saki and didn’t read it correctly.   I screamed and heads turned.  Good gawd, what a thrill and it’s all I’ve been thinking about these last 3 days.

I’m my mother’s only child and my son is my only child.  Amy, his wife, is her mother’s only daughter.  This is going to be one special grandchild.

A grandmother in November!  At long last.  And so new lives begin – for all in our family.  I can’t wait to take that 4-generations photograph.  And I’ve already begun a special family history scrapbook for my grandchild and done some baby shopping.   If I sound giddy, I am!  🙂

I have stepsisters and a stepbrother and while I’m an aunt to many nieces and nephews, true blood ties are the ones that bind and leave our legacy.   It’s family that enriches us.  The circle of life.   More wonderful treasures to put in my Basket of Life.  🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 11, 2010 in Nothing to do with Lizzie

 

One response to “I’m Going to Be a Grandmother!

  1. Kim

    May 11, 2010 at 6:55 PM

    Awww! Congrats! Sounds like you had an endlessly
    awesome day–I don’t blame you for being excited!

    That is so interesting that you are all onlies
    because I’m one, and I’m the only one I know.

     

Leave a Reply

 
