RSS

New Lizzie Borden Play Gets Good Reviews for All Elements AND IS COMING TO FALL RIVER!!

04 Apr

COMING TO FALL RIVER THIS AUGUST!!!

The award nominations and glorious reviews just keep on rolling in for this outstanding play!

(Note – This is an edited version of a November 22, 2010 post.)

Okay, Fall River – Get ready because its gonna be busy 2011 for Lizzie Borden and the city of her birth.  Not only will the Fall River Historical Society’s Parallel Lives be published before the last bud of your rosebush blooms, but this play will have a 3 performance run at Durfee H.S., August 5th and 6th.  You’ll all recall the murders occurred August 4th and each year the Pear Street Players do re-enactments at the Lizzie Borden Bed & Breakrfast.  Plan to visit the house and then see the play.

I’m thrilled to share the email I received today from Garrett Heater.  Kudos to all of the cast.  HERE IT IS:

From: Garrett Heater [mailto:gheater@yahoo.com]
Sent: Monday, April 04, 2011 4:31 PM
To: Faye Musselman
Subject: Re: New Lizzie Play

Hi Faye! 

I hope this finds you well!

I am writing to let you know about the flurry of activity regarding my play “Lizzie Borden Took an Axe” which premiered so successfully in Syracuse this past November. It has been nominated for 8 Syracuse Area Live Theatre (SALT) awards in many different categories including best Original New Production and Best Play of the Year!

I also received word that it was selected as a winner of the Gloria Ann Peter Playwright Competition and will be given a brand new production at the Morgan Opera House in Aurora, NY on November 11th and 12th!

The best news of all is that my theatre company was able to secure the auditorium of Durfee High School in Fall River, MA and we are bringing the entire production down for 3 performances on August 5th and 6th this summer! The whole cast is thrilled, I am over the moon, and we all hope to make a lot of Lizzie fans in Fall River very, very happy with this show! I am really excited that we were able to get the closest possible dates to the anniversary of the murders!

Tickets are available through PayPal on our website at http://www.thecoveytheatrecompany.com

Of course, if you would pass this information on to your loyal supporters, I would be very grateful. You have been so supportive of this project since its inception and I don’t know how I could ever thank you enough!

All the best,
Garrett Heater

— On Tue, 1/25/05, Faye Musselman <phaye@npgcable.com> wrote:
From: Faye Musselman
Subject: Re: New Lizzie Play
To: “Garrett Heater” <gheater@yahoo.com>
Date: Tuesday, January 25, 2005, 4:27 AM

Hi Garrett:

I posted to my blog as well as my Facebook page and the Lizzie Borden B&B Facebook page (owner is a friend of mine).  You might want to send her some brochures or promo sheets for her daily tour guests.  Hope all this will help with ticket sales.

I wish you much success!

-Faye Musselman

—– Original Message —–

From: Garrett Heater

To: phaye@npgcable.com

Sent: Friday, November 05, 2010 5:54 PM

Subject: New Lizzie Play

Hi Faye! 

I am a big fan of your site! I wanted to write and let you know that I have written a play based on Lizzie Borden and it is receiving it’s premiere in Syracuse at the John H. Mulroy Civic Center November 12, 13, 19, and 20.

I don’t know if you would be able to post something about this on your site, but it would be great to get some real Lizzie-fanatics in the audience! I wrote it with them in mind and I think the script is very accurate (or as close as you can get to accuracy with Lizzie!) and will appeal to sticklers for authenticity.

The Covey Theatre Company is our production company and this is our inaugural show. Our website is www.thecoveytheatrecompany.com and our tickets are $25 for opening night, which includes a post-show dowtown reception at Venue 658, and the remaining performances are $20. Groups of 10 or more get a $5 discount on any night if they pre-pay! Tickets can be reserved by calling 315.420.3729

Thank you so much!

Garrett Heater

Artistic Director, The Covey Theatre Company

 

 

READ THE REVIEW by clicking HERE

Garret’s latest email tells me he would like to bring the play to Fall River!  He’s asked Michael Martins (curator of Fall River Historical  Society) his thoughts and Michael made the excellent suggestion of Bristol Community College’s theater,  I say EXCELLENT because it would appear this play deserves the largest and most appropriate venue to stage its premiere in the town of which this mystifying case is centered.

HUZZAS TO CAST & CREW!!!

 

UPDATE:  Garrett sent me an email today with some scenes from the play.  I am totally thrilled to see actors that are “age appropriate” for a change!!  This looks stunning and I so much wish I was on the east coast to attend.  Those of you with the geographic imperative should take advantage of this!!!

November 12, 13, 19, 20 at 8:00 PM
Bevard Studio in the John H. Mulroy Civic Center, Syracuse NY.

 

Received the below email from Garrett Heater, writer and Artistic Director of The Covey Theatre Company:

—– Original Message —–
Sent: Friday, November 05, 2010 5:54 PM
Subject: New Lizzie Play
Hi Faye!
I am a big fan of your site! I wanted to write and let you know that I have written a play based on Lizzie Borden and it is receiving it’s premiere in Syracuse at the John H. Mulroy Civic Center November 12, 13, 19, and 20.
I don’t know if you would be able to post something about this on your site, but it would be great to get some real Lizzie-fanatics in the audience! I wrote it with them in mind and I think the script is very accurate (or as close as you can get to accuracy with Lizzie!) and will appeal to sticklers for authenticity.
The Covey Theatre Company is our production company and this is our inaugural show. Our website is www.thecoveytheatrecompany.com and our tickets are $25 for opening night, which includes a post-show dowtown reception at Venue 658, and the remaining performances are $20. Groups of 10 or more get a $5 discount on any night if they pre-pay! Tickets can be reserved by calling 315.420.3729
Thank you so much!
Garrett Heater

Artistic Director, The Covey Theatre Company

I am, of course, thrilled to learn that this play promises to be “accurate”, or as accurate I suppose as a playwrite could depict on a case that has been such a compelling mystery for over 100 years. Over a dozen plays have made it to the stage and they vary in style, genre, content, and conjecture as much as are the many theories to this baffling “who dunnit”. I embrace any production that would do its best to be as factual as possible. One clue may be through the cast of characters depicted on the Covey Theatre Company’s website for this production. There is something of an expanded cast compared to what is usually presented, and it tells me Mr. Heater has, indeed, strived to tell the story as accurately as possible.

I know of only one writer/actor who has put in the sweat equity (through intensive research of the primary source documents) to be accurate, and that is Jill Dalton who’s one act, one woman play, Lizzie Borden Live! surpasses anything I’ve read or seen to date. Her award winning performance is something that still haunts me.

I sincerely hope Mr. Heater and company deliver and the play is a huge success. I only wish I could be in Syracuse to see it, however I will be reading the reviews. I would suggest to all those interested in the Borden case – and who can be there – rush to purchase tickets to see what promises to be “above the bar” of most other productions regarding our enduring and enigmatic Lizzie.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2011 in TV, Theatre & Film

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “New Lizzie Borden Play Gets Good Reviews for All Elements AND IS COMING TO FALL RIVER!!

  1. Fiz

    November 16, 2010 at 6:44 AM

    This is one of the few times, I wish I lived in New York!

     
  2. Carole Mitchell

    April 5, 2011 at 9:27 AM

    Hi Faye! You may not remember me but I was an event attendant at the Long Beach Convention Center when you were General Manager. In 1984 I was a venue aide for Volleyball at the 1984 Olympics at the LB Conv. Center and you were the Olympic Committee Long Beach Venues Director. My husband and I moved to Portland, Oregon about a year after you did and I attended your lecture at Portland State College. We moved back to L.A. where my husband is practicing medicine (pediatrics). But guess what? We are moving to Boston in June!!! We will definitely go see this play. Sometimes I think WE are living Parallel Lives! lol. I think of you often. You were so great to all of us Olympic volunteers. And by the way, we both really enjoy your blog. And we’re so happy to hear you are a grandmother! Sincerely, Carole & Roger.

     

Leave a Reply

 
