RSS

The Lizzie Borden-Howdy Doody Connection

01 Jan

I spotted the above framed photo in a second hand store in Seattle two weeks ago.  I thought the little boy was so damn cute.  When I went to pay for it I was told it was Billy Oltman who won a Howdy Doody look-alike contest in the l950’s.  A subsequent internet search resulted in little more information about darling little Billy.  I guess it was his 15 minutes.

contests_howdy.htm

The connection to Lizzie:  None, other than the fact I took the photo of the photo of him on the same shelf as my Parallel Lives books.  But I bet this blog post title got you real curious, huh?  LOL.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “The Lizzie Borden-Howdy Doody Connection

  1. Mimi Foxmorton

    January 2, 2012 at 5:01 AM

    Ha! You got me! lol
    I have just recently become a Lizzie Lover……I find her fascinating!

    Happy New Year!
    ~Mimi

     
  2. Valarie Vine

    April 30, 2012 at 5:35 PM

    I recently saw the adorable picture of the Howdy Doody look-alike, so googled it and found your blog. I did find an article about a retired Seattle University of Law professor named Bill Oltman. Since you got the picture in Seattle, I thought, maybe that is “Billy Oltman AKA Howdy Doody look-alike”. There is a picture of him in an article about three professors (including Mr. Oltman) who retired about three years ago entitled “A fond farewell.” See what you think!

     
    • phayemuss

      May 3, 2012 at 5:25 PM

      Hi Valerie – can you send me that link? Thanks!

       
  3. Anonymous

    June 22, 2013 at 5:18 PM

    I know where the adult Bill lives here in CT. His birthday is Thursday, june 27. He has the orig mag to prove it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
