RSS

Lizzie Borden in a Coma

23 Jun

UPDATE:  As of June 26, there are only 19 days remaining to make your donation to get The Literary Hatchet printed.  Stefani Koorey says if you donate $5,000 you get to have dinner with her.   Read all about it HERE.  Some people are in serious need of Ego Reduction surgery.  LOL

Yes, she’s in a coma and I put her there. As previously stated, once I read Parallel Lives

my enthusiasm in the chase for the elusive Lizzie came to a long awaited close.  This magnificent book gifted me with knowledge of who this woman really was and why she initially became suspected.  Further, it provided me the insights and answers to many other questions, theories, urban legends, speculations, and misinformation, in which I had spent nearly 45 years trying to resolve.

I finished the book last November when I was in Kona, Hawaii and subsequently wrote several blog posts in November 2011 reporting on and promoting this “must have” book.  The feeling of “done with it” in terms of spending so much of my time on Lizzie Borden finally came over me. To be clear, the book was the catalyst as there were other factors at play:  the birth of my grandson the following month, and my retirement mid-2011.  My travels are now more expansive and frequent and less focused on the state of Mass. and more on Southern California, upcoming trips back to London, Rome, Venice, and Las Palmas (Canary Islands).

I choose to sedate this woman and keep her in a coma while I relish in my other interests.  I choose to enjoy my grandson, travels, season passes to Knott’s Berry Farm and Disneyland, walks along the Pacific Ocean from the shorelines of three different states and one foreign country; renewing old friendships; eating out more often than in; long drives to old destinations; flying to New York to visit old and new friends or (as I did just recently) simply to see a play and the museums.  In short, I’m LIVING my life without the yoke of Lizzie Borden.  My retirement allows me the financial means to do all these things because I have held good jobs most of all my adult life and worked hard.  I deserve this.  I earned it.  And I’m not going to blow my remaining years trying to figure out which dress Alice Russell changed into when summoned to the Borden house by Bridget, or the exact date Bridget began going blind, or (sigh) if it was an axe or a hatchet!!  LOL.  Nope.  I’m done.

When it gets down to it – it’s all about Family.  In your senior years (55+) your priorities change, priorities on how you spend your time.  You look back and say:  “Jeez, did I really spend that much collecting that?!  Did I really spend *that* much vacation time going *there”?.  And then you sift thru what you have collected and realize very little of it – no matter how rare or how collectible it is – really means much to you anymore.  It’s always photographs and mementos of family – YOUR OWN FAMILY.  Our children and grand-children are our greatest legacy.  How we raised them, how we nurtured them, how they turned out as adult human beings – trumps everything.  That is our achievement.  So I implore all of you with children and grand-children: Covet them.  I feel sorry for those who have no children and can never know the joy and satisfaction of being a mother and grandmother but nurture their pursuit of “all things Lizzie”.  They may be acting out as a surrogate “mother” (albeit subconsciously) but honestly, it’s not the same thing.  Sad, really.

So dear blog followers, I leave you with an abundance of posts of the past several years which you can surf through and find (for most readers) newly discovered information and insights on long known information – the majority presented with humor and a twinkle in my eye.  You can also read the Preliminary Hearing for free!

I salute a bit of sweet symmetry as I also leave you with these two videos of Cheryl Wheeler – who I discovered about 10 after discovering Lizzie Borden.  I hadn’t kept up with her work for nearly 25 years – too busy with…..well, you know. Anyway, I post a couple of my favorite songs of hers.   I say “symmetry” because there is a parallel message more than a little fitting for this post.  Those of you who chase all things Lizzie, who relish in being in that same space in a different time, who get excited about finding something that belonged to her era or, better yet, something she once touched – to those of you who forgo living life with equal pursuit of things more important and more gratifying — I give you:

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “Lizzie Borden in a Coma

  1. Jack L.

    June 22, 2012 at 9:02 PM

    OH NO!!!! DONT LEAVE! YOU HAVE THE BEST BLOG ON LIZZY BORDEN ANYWHERE ON THE INTERNET. I HAVE LEARNED SO MUCH FROM YOU!!! DONT GO!!!!

     
  2. Anonymous

    June 23, 2012 at 12:52 PM

    I have enjoyed your blog since you started and hope you come back to it. I like your writing.
    Thank you,
    Peter Raskin, NYC

     
    • phayemuss

      June 24, 2012 at 3:33 PM

      Thank you, Peter.

       
  3. Ted Swanson

    June 24, 2012 at 11:19 PM

    phaye please come back and post more of your knowlege about the Borden case and Fall River. I have read every single post here and printed many. My sister bought your book at the gift shop in the Fall River Historical Society and I read it. Great essay in the beginning. Please take up this blog again. Your followers demand it!

     
  4. Alice Z., Portland, OR

    June 24, 2012 at 11:21 PM

    I guess I better buy that book from the Historical Society. I will tell them Faye Musselman sent me. 🙂

     
  5. Richard R.

    June 26, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    I have been reading about the Borden case for many years and have over two dozen books in my library, but I come back often to your blogposts because you havesuch an entertaining writing style. I will really miss you, Faye, and I hope you DO come back.

     
  6. Richard Perry, Los Angeles, CA

    June 26, 2012 at 7:19 PM

    I just read the “Kickstarter” campaign for donations put up by Ms. Koorey. That’s a joke, right? I never heard of a Literary Hatchet magazine. It mostly sounds like she can’t afford to produce this magazine and wants people to pay the cost and that would mean nobody (hardly anybody?) was paying to read it or advertise in it. But at $5,000 it must be a JOKE, right????

     
  7. Linda Redeke, San Diego, Califorrnia

    June 27, 2012 at 12:49 AM

    i agree w/the other posters here that you should keep writing.

     
  8. Melissa Racini, Brooklyn, NY

    June 27, 2012 at 3:41 PM

    Faye, I mailed you a charcoal illustration of Lizzie Borden in her 60’s. Did you get it? I look forward to seeing you again when you come back to New York. 🙂

     
  9. Linda Sue D., Quincy, Ma.

    June 30, 2012 at 12:59 PM

    Hi Faye! Remember me? We met in the Boston Public Library last year and talked for hours about the Borden case. I’ve followed your Blog and am so sorry to hear you are stopping. Please reconsider!
    Linda

     
  10. Phoenix, AZ

    July 1, 2012 at 11:35 PM

    When ya comin’ bak faye?
    Your friend, David

     
  11. Peter Medeiros, Fall River, MA

    July 4, 2012 at 5:48 PM

    Is that the same stephanie koorey that ran for mayor here? what a loser.

     
  12. Anonymous

    July 4, 2012 at 6:16 PM

    I really miss your writing and really hope you will do more for us here.
    Jason Petrone
    Santa Fe, New Mexico

     
  13. a fan of Faye

    August 4, 2012 at 7:26 PM

    Sometimes we all need a break from things, but I would love to know if an dhow the new book changed your ideas, or resolved certain questions, please…
    and thank you for sharing so much.
    Enjoy your grandson!

     
    • phayemuss

      August 5, 2012 at 1:09 PM

      I’ll get back to this when I return from traveling. Thank you for writing. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
