RSS

New Lizzie Borden Fiction Book by Michael Brimbau

27 Jul

UPDATE:   From the Fall River Herald News 7-27-13

Here’s a new book on Lizzie, “The Girl With The Pansy Tattoo” – scratch that, “The Girl With The Pansy Pin”  (not quite the same cadence, but you get it.)

lb-fullpansyThis is Lizzie wearing the pansy pin.

Here’s a promo piece on the book as announced by the Fall River Historical Society where an advanced purchase can be made.

Judging from the description of the book’s content it would seem that the author pulled from known facts about Lizzie, if not the story line itself.

I’m not one to read much fiction  on Lizzie as I think there is enough conjecture in many of the non-fiction books.  However, I’m curious to see how Mr. Brimbau managed to get “600 pages” for his book.  It may be he has attempted to tell all of Lizzie’s story from his conjectured POV as her own.  If so, I would think he was cautious not to make up wildly unlikely scenes or events and stick to that which can be based on fact.  From what I know of Mr. Brimbau’s penchant for accuracy, he most likely has done precisely that.

It should be noted that Mr. Brimbau is the owner of the house just east of “Maplecroft” (once actually owned by Lizzie herself) and is the “SO” to Stefani Koorey, his roommate of the past 6 years.  Therefore, he would have a great amount of resources at his disposal for his own research.   It’s worthy of note that Ms. Koorey has stated publicly she moved from central Florida to Fall River because she fell in love with Michael, who, instead, might have lived in Cleveland.  😉

The only fiction book I’ve read in the last ten years on Lizzie Borden is Richard Behrens “Lizzie Borden Girl Detective”,  a  well-written book that stands fast to known facts and shows solid research.   I would recommend this book as a very entertaining and very smart read.  In fact, the more informed you are about the case and Lizzie in general, the more you will enjoy this book.  In short, it’s very “inside”, but that’s not to say you need know anything about the Borden case to enjoy the jolly exploits of this “Nancy Drew” type girl detective.

poseycoverRichardBehrens

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “New Lizzie Borden Fiction Book by Michael Brimbau

  1. Anna Battelyn

    July 18, 2013 at 1:49 AM

    Well I’m not going to spend my money on books that tell a made up story because it is hard enough figuring out the real one. haha I think she did it but regretted and suffered for it all her life. I bought Parallel Lives and it made me think Lizzie had a mostly sad life afterwards except for her group of close friends that gave her some joy in life. She should have moved to Paris.

     
  2. Pete Jamison

    July 18, 2013 at 4:21 PM

    I’d read it. But $20 is too much.

     
  3. Nancy M.

    July 19, 2013 at 1:20 PM

    Who is Michael Brimbau? I Googled him and nothing. Has he written any other books?

     
  4. Janet D., Fall River.

    July 27, 2013 at 11:48 AM

    I live in Fall River and Ms. Borden is not very well “liked” here. I am an exception as I find the mystery very appealing. I agree fiction books on true murder cases can be a turn off but since the author is a local I might wait for the library here to get it and check it out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
