RSS

UPDATE: No Matter How Inaccurate, Lizzie Borden in the Media is Good Business

02 Jan

Someone messaged me on Facebook: “Faye, you are helping to promote this awful movie by posting about it.” Oh no, I’m not. I’m doing blogs about it, I’m commentinig on internet chat rooms etc. about it,  I’m responding to the buzz that’s already out there giving a totally different POV. My POV is based on decades of research, interviews, published papers, speaking engagements, case related collectibles, etc. I want my opinions dispersed out there in the world wide web. Hopefully when the hype heightens and people Google about Ricci, the film, Lizzie, Fall River, etc., they will have my POV to ponder rather than simply accepting as truth the horseshit they will have viewed.   Hopefully, I will help to slow the resultant predictable tide of misinformation that perpetuates the myth of Lizzie Borden.

SO HERE IS THE LATEST:

LBAXE

CLICK HERE —->UPDATE 1/3/2014

Excuse me whilst I stab my eyeballs out.

The Lifetime Movie Channel-Christina Ricci rendition of the Lizzie Borden story has her (Lizzie) sneaking out of the house days before the murder to attend a wild party. (Thump. <–sound of me banging my head against the wall).

The script apparently establishes as fact Lizzie & Emma were surrogate wives to Andrew until he married the stepmother. (Thump. Thump).

Ricci, so says the article, did extensive research into her role. (Thumpity, thump, thump).

I’d type more but I can’t see thru the blood of my eyeballs.

In Uncategorized on January 3, 2014 at 3:30 am

Image

Photo by Bryce Vickmark for The New York Times

It’s only been recently that the Fall River Chamber of Commerce has publicly acknowleged the revenue and residual advantages of touting their most famous citizen, Lizzie Borden.  Perhaps it’s taken them that long to figure out thousands have trekked to Fall River for one purpose only:  To visit the murder house at 92 Second Street.  It’s the same gravitational pull that feeds tourism in Dallas at Dealy Plaza.  And once in Fall River they proceed to only 3 other locations before getting back on the highway towards Newport or Boston.  Those 3 sites are:  The French Street stately home called “Maplecroft” in the Highlands where Lizzie lived the other half of her life, the Fall River Historical Society to view part of their world’s largest collection relative to the case and Lizzie herself, and finally to Oak Grove Cemetery where she is buried.  It’s usually the repeat visitors or regional residents that discover Fall River has a little more to offer on a day’s visit, i.e., some great restaurants, Battleship Cove, great vistas overlooking the Taunton River and…and…and…well, the hidden John Mann murals on the walls of the auditorium at the old Matthew Kuss Middle School at 217 Rock Street.  Thing is you can’t get to them. 

Well, now comes along another TV movie on Lizzie Borden starring Christina Ricci.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.  Christina Ricci would be appropriate casting as Lizzie Borden if Justin Bieber played Andrew Borden.  If that doesn’t tell you right off the bat about how accurate this Lifetime Movie Production will be….will read the following New York Times article and determine for yourself.

The only good thing is that whenever the media hypes Lizzie, there are spikes in the revenue for the Lizzie Borden Bed & Breakfast – and Fall River in general.  I’m all for that.  Fiction or Fact.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “UPDATE: No Matter How Inaccurate, Lizzie Borden in the Media is Good Business

  1. Anonymous

    January 4, 2014 at 10:32 PM

    You obviously know a lot about this case. When I visited the Fall River Historical Society I saw a book written by “Faye Musselman”. Are you the same person? What else have you written?

    Janene Silvers
    Dallas, Texas

     
  2. Anonymous

    January 25, 2014 at 2:13 PM

    Did anyone ever suspect Emma may be for the murders

     

Leave a Reply

 
