RSS

Mrs. Ocker’s Claim to Fame: She wore “That Dress” at Lizzie Borden’s Bed & Breakfast

07 Oct

Dress

Lindsey Ocker in Lizzie Borden’s Bedroom

I’ve been following J. W. Ocker’s blog , “Odd Things I’ve Seen” (aka “O.T.I.S.”) since 2006 and have delighted in his subsequent literary success.  Early on I was particularly impressed with his November 2007 account of his visit to the Lizzie Borden Bed & Breakfast/Museum. The startling revelation  of his wife (girlfriend at the time) putting on and posing in the dress displayed in Emma’s Room (they stayed in the Lizzie/Emma suite) made me a hard core fan.

I’m not going to say more about this dress or its origin, thus (hopefully) compelling the reader to actually read his long post, an endeavor most worthwhile.  I will say, however, I believe this to be the first and ONLY time any guest – male or female – had so adorned themselves and been photographed.

Some future LBB&B/Museum guest reading this may now be inspired to replicate the event.  To those so inclined I say why not be a tad more inventive and try the green dress in the John Morse Guest Room.

Dress

It is the actual dress worn by Elizabeth Montgomery in the  courtroom scenes in the ever popular 1975 made-for-tv movie, Legend of Lizzie Borden.

I’m not sure if J. W. Ocker and his girlfriend (now wife) were demonstrating a unique act of bravery or devilish disregard for museum pieces, but I do know I admire their chutzpah.  I remain in awe.  I remain a fan.  His earlier books, compendiums of all the odd things he has seen are little treasure to my collection of books.

Mr. Ocker’s excellent post on his visit to the Bed & Breakfast can be read HERE.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Mrs. Ocker’s Claim to Fame: She wore “That Dress” at Lizzie Borden’s Bed & Breakfast

  1. Anonymous

    October 7, 2014 at 4:33 AM

    Fun read, your a great writer. I was going to ask if you ever made it to the F. R. Historical Society but its obvios that other negative comment came from one of the old farts who works there! Comeon, I doubt that was THE original dress, butyour girlfriend/wife looked lovely in it! I’m from F. R., born n brought up there, and sadly ithas changed so much in the past 50 years, not at all like it use to be!

     
    • phayemuss

      October 9, 2014 at 1:07 AM

      That wasn’t MY girlfrien/wife. It was J. W. Ocker’s wife, Lindsey. And I have a great deal of respect for the Fall River Historical Society and those that work there. 🙂

       
  2. Pamela,-Boston, MA

    October 8, 2014 at 12:13 PM

    SOME NERVE! DISRESPECTFUL!

     

Leave a Reply

 
