RSS

Lizzie Borden Chronicles vs. Mad Men Final Episodes

03 Apr

Both MAD MEN-THE FINAL EPISODES and THE LIZZIE BORDEN CHRONICLES debut Sunday night, April 5th at 10: pm (Eastern and Pacific).   Who will win the Ratings Race? Which will you be watching Sunday night and which will you DVR?

NBC and the Lifetime Movie Channel hope you’ll be watching their premieres.  Frankly, neither are my taste.  I’m still mourning the end of Downton Abbey and still taking my meds on finding out next season will be its last.  But I digress.  For what I think, see below these promo banners. LBC MM FE I think Elizabeth Moss would have made a better (acting-wise) and more authentic Lizzie Borden.  And I think Christina Hendricks would have been a much sexier Lizzie than Christina Ricci’s sexo-comedic portrayal of her. MM Peggy MM

Clearly, Christina Ricci’s career got an adrenalin surge when Lifetime selected this compelling case, pimping out the enigmatic Lizzie Borden and transforming her into a gross caricature – a post pubescent sociopath.

I don’t care that The Lizzie Borden Chronicles is not based on historical fact   I don’t care that it proposes to only portray what “might have happened” after her Trial.  The damage is done.  And I’ll be writing about all that later.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2015 in lifetime movie channel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Lizzie Borden Chronicles vs. Mad Men Final Episodes

  1. Daughter of Anarchy

    April 3, 2015 at 7:13 AM

    Hmm… Enjoy your website, but such established outlets as the New York Times and Daily Variety are giving Lizzie good reviews.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2015/04/01/arts/television/review-the-lizzie-borden-chronicles-a-lifetime-series-starring-christina-ricci.html?_r=0

    http://variety.com/2015/tv/reviews/tv-review-the-lizzie-borden-chronicles-1201461423/

    We might have to agree to disagree on this one… I’m sure the historical inaccuracies on Sunday Night could fill a laundry list, but will you be reviewing the show on it’s own merits when it debuts?

     
    • phayemuss

      April 3, 2015 at 10:10 AM

      Partially. Think of it if Lizzie Borden had descendants. Think of it in terms of those who knew her and told their children, still living, about her. The qualilty of the production – good, bad or indifferent is not what offends me.

       
  2. Ryan - Fall River, MA

    April 3, 2015 at 10:01 AM

    I’ll be watching Mad Men because I can’t stand that other shit. Most people I know in Fall River don’t like it either, or just don’t care or are sick of it. My wife and I very much enjoy the historical stuff you post here. We’ve been a fan of your blog for years!!

     
  3. Ellie in Swansea

    April 3, 2015 at 10:05 AM

    MAD MEN!! Christina Ricci is a cartoon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
